Skip to content

Asiaphiles Beware!! (but that’s as threatening as it’s gonna get)

January 5, 2010

I’m curious how many women fantasize about violence. Not necessarily violence against themselves, but rather acting out violence against others. Here’s my thought process. I read an article about Asiaphile iphone apps, involving Asian breasts, blowing up Asian girls’ skirts to see their undergarments, and tips on getting a date with a Chinese woman. I am sickened by these antics, that for a few bucks people can carry digitized racism in their hands, accessible at any given moment. How can I get these pricks back? How can I reduce the number of Asian fetishists, lurking about the world, rubbing up against me in the subway, and hitting on me with lines like, “oh so you’re Korean. i think they’re the best looking Asians.”?

So, I began thinking of all the violent things I could do to an Asiaphile the next time I’m approached. This goes against my soft pacifist stance and my Jesus given grace, but nonetheless I fantasized for several minutes. Is this common, this fantasy of violence, of being some kickass superwoman, who kicks ass so hard the tides of racism and genderism are reversed? I know many women who have ‘escape plans’ mapped out in their heads in almost every place they’ve ever gone to. They know what weapon they’d grab or which way they’d run in case of attack. Violence against women is a form of terrorism, so that when we hear of it happening to any woman, we fear for ourselves, because it’s an attack against all women. My fantasy of violence against specific groups of men is rooted in a desire to terrorize them. I want the message sent to all men, not to mess with me or my fellow women. Yet it’s very unlikely I’ll execute any of these whimsical ideas. But it does help me gain power over a situation that, when I’m confronted by it, leaves me depleted and fearful.

No comments yet

Leave a comment